Grandes Marques

This term is used for an organisation in Champagne. The Syndicat du Commerce des Vins de Champagne was formed in 1822, then made into a professional syndicate in 1884. The organisation was for some time the only official body that was able to defend the interests of Champagne and the Champagne houses. The formation of the C.I.V.C. In 1945 then established an effective body to combat abuses. The Syndicat since has made itself (in 1964) into the Syndicat de Grandes Marques de Champagne (the use of the word de and not des indicates that the list is not exclusive).

At present the list of houses belonging to this syndicate is: Ayala, Billecart Salmon, Bollinger, Canard Duchene, Clicquot Ponsardin, Deutz & Geldermann, Heidsieck Monopole, Charles Heidsieck/Henriot, Krug, Lanson, Laurent Perrier, Masse, Mercier, Moet & Chandon, Montebello, Mumm, Perrier Jouet, Joseph Perrier, Piper Heidsieck, Pol Roger, Pommery &Greno, Ch. & A. Prieur, Louis Roederer, Ruinart, Salon, and Taittinger/Irroy. It would appear – for information is not easy to get – that the original dozen establishments of the group are those who organise the ‘Champagne Academy’. This scheme allows selected students of the wine trade to spend a period annually as guests of the Champagne houses; they are trained in all the details of the Champagne method, working in the cellars, tasting and studying seriously as well as being entertained.

16. December 2011 by admin
Categories: Spirits, Uncategorized, Wine, Wine Dictionary | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | Comments Off on Grandes Marques


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox

Join other followers: